CCBA Certification: Eligibility, Cost & More


Curious to know about CCBA certification? Then, here you will find everything that you need to know. READ ON!

CCBA certification stands for Certification of Capability in Business Analysis. This is the 2nd level of BA certification by the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA). 

IIBA also provides various certifications for business analysis professionals such as CBAP certification, ECBA certification, CCBA certification, and so on. These are the core business analysis certifications. 

What Is CCBA Certification?

CCBA certification offers best practices and business analysis skills that help to develop a career and stand out from other business analysts.

The following are the key components of this certification:

  • Other than CBAP, it is one of the most well-known certificates worldwide.
  • This exam is only for experienced business analysts.
  • You will be able to gain best practices and formal business analysis abilities as a result of this course.

CCBA Certification Eligibility

For obtaining the CCBA certification candidate must have the following eligibility requirements. 

1. Work Experience in Business Analysis:

You must have completed at least 3750 hours of business analysis work in the last seven years.

2. Knowledge Area Expertise:

Among these 3,750 hours, fulfill the requirement of a minimum of 900 hours in each of 2 out of the 6 BABOK Guide Knowledge Areas, or a minimum of 500 hours in each of 4 out of the 6 BABOK Guide Knowledge Areas

The six knowledge domains are as follows:

  • Planning and monitoring of business analysis
  • Collaboration and Elicitation
  • Requirements Life Cycle Management (LCM)
  • Strategic Evaluation
  • Design Definition and Requirements Analysis
  • Solution Analysis

3. Professional Growth:

You must have completed at least 21 hours of professional development in the last four years.

CCBA Certification Exam Pattern

The CCBA exam is a computer-based exam that can be taken online through proctoring or in person at a PSI test center.

According to IIBA, the CCBA exam includes 130 scenario-based MCQs which must be completed within 3 hours.

Blueprints of the Exam

Check the knowledge areas of the CCBA Exam.

CCBA Exam Cost

The CCBA exam cost varies depending on the members and non-members of IIBA.

CCBA Certification Validity

The CCBA certification is valid for 3 years from the day it is granted, after which it must be renewed (with a one-year grace period) through a recertification process.

Recertification Fees

How to Prepare for CCBA Certification

Preparing for the Certification of Capability in Business Analysis (CCBA) test can be difficult, but with the correct resources and study materials, you can improve your chances of success. 

Here are some tips for preparing CCBA certification preparation materials.

  • Visiting IIBA questions for FAQs as well as certification-oriented example questions 
  • To guarantee that there are no gaps in understanding, read and update the BABOK Study Guide version 3 regularly. 
  • Real-time preparation of one’s study notes after completing any chapter 
  • To create a study plan based on the % weight of the exam’s business analysis portions. 
  • One option is to use online flashcards, which will assist with 1000 BABOK questions and provide vital guidelines. 
  • Studying in groups is beneficial since there will be many times when doubts will be cleared, ultimately increasing confidence.
  • Practice examinations are really important, and you must take them very seriously. 
  • There may be numerous business analysis scenarios to consider.

Is it worth it?

The CCBA certification is an internationally recognized business analyst qualification. This certificate certifies the certified professional’s business analysis knowledge, skills, and experience. 

1. Enhanced Career Possibilities

The CCBA certification can help you stand out from other business analysts who do not qualify. This can lead to additional employment prospects, such as leadership responsibilities and higher-paying positions. Many firms prefer to recruit qualified business analysts since they are considered more competent.

2. Recognition of Business Analysis Competencies

It recognizes business analysts’ competencies and validates their skills and knowledge. It can help you get recognition as a professional and capable business analyst, which can lead to more work chances and better career prospects.

3. Improved Project Outcomes

The CCBA certification provides you with the knowledge and abilities required to effectively manage projects. This certification covers all areas of business analysis, from planning and gathering requirements to testing and deployment. 

4. Professional Network Access

The CCBA certification grants you access to a network of professionals who have obtained the certification as well. This network can connect you with future employers and allow you to share your knowledge.

5. Professional Growth

It requires you to complete ongoing professional development, which keeps you up to date on the newest trends and best practices in the field of business analysis. This constant learning might help you stay relevant and competitive in your work.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the full form of CCBA?

ANS: The CCBA stands for Certification of Capability in Business Analysis

2. What is the cost of CCBA certification?

ANS: The application fee for the CCBA is approx CAD 145 (non-refundable). The CCBA exam costs approx $250 for IIBA members and $405 for non-members. 

3. What is the duration of the CCBA exam?

ANS: The CCBA test consists of 130 multiple-choice scenario-based questions based on the BABOK® Guide that must be completed in 3 hours.

4. What is the validity of CCBA certification?

ANS: CCBA certification is valid for 3 years from the date of certification issued.

5. Does CCBA recertification consist of any cost?

ANS: Yes, if you want to recertify your certification then you will have to pay some cost which is $85 for IIBA members and $120 for non-IIBA members.

6. Which is better ECBA OR CCBA?

ANS: ECBa is an entry-level business analyst certification with little or no experience whereas CCBA is created for those who have already some BA work experience.

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *