The Best IIBA Certifications to Pursue in 2023!

Curious to know which IIBA Certification to pursue in 2023? Here find all the things you need to know!

Interested in a career in business analysis? The International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA) offers various business analyst certifications, each covering specific areas of experience and expertise. On the other hand IIBA certification provides and empowers Business Analysis Professionals with expertise and vital skills. Certification increases your marketability, job prospects, and earning potential. So, here find out the best IIBA certifications to pursue in 2023!

Make sure to check: CCBA Certification: Now Get Professional Growth in Canada!

IIBA Certification to Pursue in 2023

IIBA offers many business analysis certifications. Here we will provide the best IIBA certifications to pursue in 2023: 

  • Entry Certificate in Business Analysis (ECBA)
  • Certification of Capability in Business Analysis (CCBA)
  • Certified Business Analysis Professional (CBAP)
1. Entry Certificate in Business Analysis (ECBA):

It is an entry-level certification perfect for those who have minimal or no experience in business analysis.The International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA) offers the ECBA certification to those new to the discipline of business analysis. 

The following are the requirements for eligibility of ECBA Certification:

  • Prior BA job experience is not required.
  • Professional development of 21 hours in the last four years 
  • Acceptance of the Terms and Conditions and the ECBA Code of Conduct
  • ECBA emphasizes that the individual possesses fundamental knowledge. 
  • The ECBA establishes a peer network. 
  • ECBA improves marketability by highlighting an individual’s accomplishments and knowledge. 
  • The ECBA business analysis certification distinguishes the beneficiaries’ résumé from the competition.  
2. Certification of Capability in Business Analysis (CCBA):

The CCBA certification provides best practices and business analysis abilities that will help you advance your career and distinguish yourself from other business analysts.

This certification’s essential components are as follows:

  • Aside from CBAP, it is one of the most well-known credentials in the world.
  • Only experienced business analysts should take this exam.
  • As a result of this training, you will be able to learn best practices and formal business analysis skills.

The following are the requirements for eligibility of ECBA Certification:

  • You must have performed at least 3750 hours of business analysis work in the last seven years.
  • You must have 900 hours in two of the six knowledge areas or 500 hours in four of the six knowledge areas.

The six knowledge domains are as follows:

1. Business analysis planning and management

2. Collaboration and elicitation

3. Requirements Life Cycle Management

4. Strategic Analysis

5. Design and Requirements Analysis

6. Analysis of the Solution

  • You need to have completed at least 21 hours of professional growth in the last four years.
  • CCBA allows for knowledge domain extension. 
  • It promotes overall progress, including both knowledge and competency. 
  • The CCBA provides its recipients with a fantastic networking opportunity. 
3. Certified Business Analysis Professional (CBAP):

The CBAP (Certified Business Analysis Professional) certification is a prominent certificate issued by the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA). It is intended for experienced business analysts who have demonstrated a high level of expertise in business analysis. The certificate is ideal for system analysts, process improvement analysts, and other similar positions.

The following are the requirements for eligibility of CBAP Certification:

  • Completed a minimum of 7,500 hours of Business Analysis Work Experience in the last ten years
  • A minimum of 900 hours completed in four of the six BABOK Guide Knowledge Areas, for a total of at least 3,600 of the needed 7,500 total.
  • Complete at least 35 hours of professional development in the last four years.
  • CBAP assists in showing knowledge, experience, and competencies as a highly effective business analyst. 
  • It assists in standing out among all other employees. 
  • CBAP enables you to earn significantly more than your colleagues. 

What Are the Advantages of IIBA Certification?

Obtaining an International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA) certification provides various advantages for business analysts and individuals in related fields. The following are some of the primary advantages of having IIBA certification:

Industry Recognition: 

IIBA certificates are globally recognized and acknowledged in the business analysis community. Having an IIBA certification displays your dedication to excellence in business analysis processes.

Career Advancement: 

IIBA certificates might lead to new employment options and promotion within your existing business. Certified experts are frequently considered for leadership positions and more difficult tasks.

Professional Networking: 

IIBA certificates give you access to a global community of business analysts and professionals. Participating in this community can lead to networking opportunities, mentorship, and exposure to the most recent business trends.

Increase Employability: 

IIBA certificates increase your employability, making you a more appealing prospect to organizations seeking competent and knowledgeable business analysts.

Global Opportunities: 

IIBA qualifications are well recognized and appreciated around the world. Holding an IIBA certification can broaden your job opportunities outside your local area and allow you to collaborate on international initiatives.

Contributions to the Profession: 

Being certified by the IIBA allows you to contribute to the progress of the business analysis profession. You can get involved in community activities, offer your knowledge, and mentor budding business analysts.

Enhanced Earning Potential: 

IIBA certifications also enhanced the earning potential of individuals. Certified business analysts usually earn more than non-certified experts. The qualification can be a crucial asset in salary discussions, resulting in higher pay packages.

You may also check: ECBA Certification: A Catalyst for Professional Growth

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What are some business analyst certifications?

CAP, ECBA, CBAP, CCBA, PMI-PBA, AAC, and more business analyst certifications are available. 

2. Which is better, PMI or IIBA?

PMI-PBA is for business analysts who work on projects and programs and have project management experience, whereas IIBA views business analysis in a much broader context, covering activities that extend beyond project and program and apply to the entire organizational involvement.

3. What is the purpose of IIBA certification?

An IIBA certification develops and provides Business Analysis Professionals with knowledge and core competencies. 

Share your love
Ava Murphy
Ava Murphy

Ava Murphy is a content researcher at She has expertise in Inspirational and professional education content.

Articles: 526


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *