Business Analyst Certification: How will it help you?

Look into becoming a certified business analyst to further your career as a business analyst. Here are some of the business analysis certificates that are available.

Curious about knowing the tips to get business analysis jobs in Canada ? One of the best tips to become a successful business analyst is to get business analyst certification. But confused about which business analyst certification is right for you? So, we have brought you the top certifications that may help to choose the right business analyst certification for you.

You may also check: 8 Best Data Analyst Skills Every Employer Will Demand in 2023!

Business Analyst Certifications

No matter where you are in your career or what field of business analysis interests you the most, you have various possibilities for business analyst credentials.  They are available through organizations such as the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA) and the Project Management Institute (PMI). 

The three-part IIBA certification is regarded as the global standard for business analysts. So, whatever you select, it can help you showcase your skills and progress your career or become a leader in your sector. 

Best Business Analyst Certification to Choose

There are numerous business analysis certifications available. Here are the best:

1. IIBA Entry Certificate in Business Analysis (ECBA):

The IIBA offers an Entry Certificate in Business Analysis (ECBA), which covers the fundamentals of business analysis in accordance with the BABOK (Business Analyst Body of Knowledge) reference. Hence, this is a beginner’s business analyst certification. 

It is a foundation certificate in business analysis, designed for both beginners and experienced professionals who want to learn more about what it takes to be a business analyst. 


  • ECBA emphasizes that the individual possesses fundamental knowledge. 
  • ECBA establishes a peer network. 
  • ECBA improves marketability by highlighting an individual’s accomplishments and knowledge. 


  • There is no prior business analysis work experience necessary for ECBA. 
  • ECBA needs 21 hours of professional development (PD) in the previous four years. 
  • The ECBA mandates compliance with its Code of Conduct.

Exam Format

  • 1 hour long Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ) exam with 50 questions. 
2. IIBA Certification of Competency in Business Analysis (CCBA):

Business analysts who want to be recognized for their knowledge and abilities through obtaining formal business analysis certification can do so by earning the Certification of Competency in Business Analysis (CCBA) designation from the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA). 

CCBA professionals are recognized for their improved capacity to take on critical duties and demonstrate their analytical competence, which they have already demonstrated in their working history. 


  • Because it is a worldwide recognized qualification, CCBA gives its owner greater chances in their field of work. 
  • CCBA allows for knowledge domain extension. 
  • CCBA promotes overall progress, including both knowledge and competency. 
  • The CCBA provides its recipients with a fantastic networking opportunity. 


  • A minimum of 3,750 hours of Business Analysis job experience completed within the last 7 years is necessary. 
  • Within these 3750 minimum hours, 900 hours must be achieved in each of two of the six BABOK Guide Knowledge Areas, or 500 hours must be completed in each of four of the six BABOK Guide Knowledge Areas. 
  • A minimum of 21 hours of Professional Development should have been completed within the last four years. 
  • Please provide references. 
  • A code of conduct should be established. 
  • Terms & Conditions must be agreed to. 

Exam Format

  • 3 hour Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ) exam with 130 questions, the most of which are situational.
3. IIBA Certified Business Analysis Professional (CBAP):

A CBAP Certified person, according to the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA), is a professional who is popular as an expert in determining solutions to business-related problems and is the primary facilitator inside a firm. 

CBAP are known as capable persons who are crucial to the success of any project. Hence, the CBAP is in charge of requirements management and requirements development. 


  • CBAP assists in showing knowledge, experience, and competencies as a highly effective business analyst. 
  • CBAP assists in standing out among all other employees. 
  • CBAP enables you to earn significantly more than your colleagues. 


  • Within the last ten years, you must have completed a minimum of 7,500 hours of Business Analysis Work. 
  • A minimum of 900 hours were completed in four of the six BABOK Guide Knowledge Areas during this experience, for a total of at least 3,600 of the needed 7,500 total. 
  • Completed at least 35 hours of professional development in the previous four years.

Exam Format

  • 3.5-hour Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ) exam with 120 questions (mainly case study-based).

You may also check: 7 Epic Ways to Prepare for PMP Certification Exam Effortlessly!

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What Is the Importance of a Business Analytics Certificate?

Business analyst certification shows to employers that you have the ability to collect and evaluate data using advanced data analytics

2. Which is better, CCBA or CBAP?

CBAP is without a doubt the most well-known and highly valued Business Analysis Certification. It is also the most popular certification for two reasons: first, it is the most comprehensive: CBAP certification necessitates a breadth and depth of Business Analysis expertise.

3. How long will CBAP be valid?

The validity of CBAP certification is three years from the date of the exam and must be renewed every three years to maintain your certification active.

Share your love
Ava Murphy
Ava Murphy

Ava Murphy is a content researcher at She has expertise in Inspirational and professional education content.

Articles: 526

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *